Frys.Com Open Past Winners and History

October 6, 2014


The Fry.Com Open has the distinction of being the first tournament in the PGA Tour’s new wraparound season. That’s right, just as the 2013 season has ended, the 2014 season begins. The 2014 tournament has moved to the Silverado Country Club in Napa, California.

The new format is interesting at this point. Although the first few tournaments are unlikely to draw the biggest names, they should feature some veterans and younger players trying to get ahead on FedEx Cup points before the usual suspects get back on their horses.

The Frys.Com Open began life in 2007 as the Fry’s Electronics Open. It was held at the Grayhawk Golf Clubs’s Raptor Course in Scottsdale. The name changed to the Frys.Com Open in 2008, and in 2010, the tournament moved to the CordeValle Golf Club in San Martin, Calif.

The inaugural event was won by Canadian Mike Weir by one stroke over Mark Hensby. Troy Matteson in 2009 set a PGA Tour 36-hole record by shooting 61-61=122 in the second and third rounds. He won a three-man playoff over Rickie Fowler and Jamie Lovemark to win the tournament.

The complete list of winners follows

Year Player Country Winner's score Earnings ($) Open
2014 Jimmy Walker US 70-69-62-66=267 (–17) 900,000 ($)
2012 Jonas Blixt Sweden 66-68-66-68=268 (–16) 900,000
2011 Bryce Molder United States 71-67-65-64=267 (-17) 900,000
2010 Rocco Mediate United States 64-65-67-73=269 (-15) 900,000
2009 Troy Matteson United States 72-61-61-68=262 (-18) 900,000
2008 Cameron Beckman United States 69-66-64-63=262 (-18) 900,000
Fry's Electronics Open
2007 Mike Weir Canada 69-64-65-68=266 (-14) 900,000
Posted By The Original Golf Blogger

Share on Tumblr

Golf Blog Category:
PGA Tour

Permalink | Start a Forum Post on this topic or other golf topics | Email this entry

Legal Information, Privacy Policy, Comment Policy and Disclaimers

Shop TaylorMade Golf equipment, apparel, shoes & more


No comments yet.

Post a Comment:

Note: All comments are moderated. Spam comments simply will not get through. So don't bother.



Remember Me?

Email Me When Someone Else Comments?

Submit the word you see below:

America's national championship is the US ___ .


The Pro Shop

  • Callaway Razr X Irons
  • Ping i25 Driver
  • Cleveland Launcher Driver
  • Garmin Approach G5 Touchscreen Golf GPS
  • Titleist 913 D2 Driver
  • Golf Stand Bags
  • Ping i15 Hybrids
  • Nike SQ Machspeed Hybrids
  • Nike Power Distance Long Golf Balls
  • TaylorMade Jetspeed Driver
  • Get The Newsletter